Windows 7/8/10 Users Please Read !


Instructions For Windows 7, 8 And 10 Users

UtilitySoft software is safe to download and install on Windows PCs and does not install any other form of malicious applications or spam. Our applications are not yet on the Microsoft Download Store and as such are still considered Legacy Windows Applications and may encounter more stringent security measures and clearances as compared to the newer Windows Store applications.

Windows 7, 8 and 10 operating systems have a much tighter security protocol than the previous windows operating systems i.e. 95, XP or Vista , therefore you will need to adjust the UAC (User Account Control) settings on your PC to be able to run UtilitySoft software without the constant nagging of the UAC prompt every time the software is launched. Also, the download process for windows legacy applications has now become difficult as you are constantly being prompted by your browser to accept or reject a download if it suspects it may be a unsafe application to download and install on your PC.

How to Download and Install Legacy Windows Application

Using your browser of choice, allow it to download and save your download to your PC before installation. Downloaded files are usually saved in the ‘Downloads’ Folder. After download is complete click on it to start the install process. When installing a windows application from the internet, Windows 7, 8 and Windows 10 will display a security warning with the heading ‘Windows protected your PC’.

– To proceed with the download allow by selecting ‘Run’ during the download process and selecting ‘More info’ then ‘Run Anyway’ during the installation process.

– Now another dialog box will appear User Accounts Control (UAC) – Select ‘Yes’ to begin installing the application.


How To Change User Account Control (UAC) Settings

Step 1: Begin by opening the application from the desktop icon or taskbar icon as you would normally do. The UAC warning screen will appear asking the user what they would like to do with the application being opened

Step 2: Instead of simply selecting ‘Yes’ from the choices provided, click the blue link on the bottom of the window that says ‘Change when these notifications appear’. The UAC settings screen will now open

Step 3: Move the security settings Scroll Handle all the way to the bottom – ‘Never Notify’ and click OK. Restart the computer for changes to take effect.

* Now you can open the application normally without the UAC warning window interfering and nagging you to select ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ each time the application is opened.